Happy Equinox, March 20-21; Happy Persian New Year – Nowruz

Today is one of the four powerful days in the year, the solstices and the equinoxes. There are two equinoxes – spring and autumn. In the Northern Hemisphere, today is the Spring Equinox. In the Southern Hemisphere, today is the Fall Equinox.

On these days, there is balance between day and night. From ancient times, cultures celebrated these important days. Fortunately, some cultures and people throughout the Earth still celebrate these days as powerful times for creating change and aligning with the Earth and her values.

In Iran, they mark their new year by this date. The new year has various spellings in western script, including Nowruz, NoRuz, NoRooz. One of the ancient themes of Nowruz is the triumph of good over evil. This is what the Earth and its people need. Nothing could be more timely or more important to direct our hearts and prayers to creating that today.

The exact moment of the equinox occurs:

March 20, 22:45 UTC (Universal Coordinated Time)

March 20, 6:45 PM EDT          Washington, DC

March 20, 3:45 PM PDT          San Francisco, CA

March 21, 2:45 AM MSK        Moscow, Russia

March 21, 3:15 AM IRST         Tehran, Iran

March 21, 8:45 AM JST           Tokyo, Japan

 

For more times, use the time conversion tool at

http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html